My Account »
eCollections

Databases

Question mark     
Databases provide access to journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, topic overviews, video clips, images, radio items, reviews, maps and much more. Some of the databases require you to enter your library card number.

 

 FAMILY HISTORY

Ancestry gives you access to a wide variety of records to help research your family history. Includes records from the United States and Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Europe, Australia and New Zealand.

Find my past is another excellent resource for family history researchers. Includes records from the United States and Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.

 RESEARCH

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Britannica has provided accurate, reliable information for more than 200 years, and few people know how to do it as well as they do. This award-winning resource for children and adults provides a wealth of easy to use, and easy to find trusted information.
cARD rEQUIRED

World Book Online
Dedicated to providing timely, reliable, and readable educational products that foster a deep desire to learn in students of all ages. World Book Online hosts thousands of articles, as well as hundreds of maps, videos, and other media for an immersive learning experience.
cARD rEQUIRED

 READING AND LITERATURE

NoveList Plus is a database of reading recommendations. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
cARD rEQUIRED

TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated, talking books and picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.
cARD rEQUIRED

 NEW ZEALAND

Maaori Land Court Minute Books Index 
The Maaori Land Court Minute Books Index provides and easy access to an index of over 1,100 minute books from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maaori Land Court Districts.
cARD rEQUIRED

Australia and New Zealand Reference Centre
The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to libraries in Oceania.
cARD rEQUIRED

The Treaty of Waitangi Collection
This Collection is a landmark digital resource primarily designed to provide a new and authoritative home for Treaty scholarship online, with more books to be added over time.
cARD rEQUIRED

Papers Past 
New Zealand newspapers and periodicals from the late 19th century and early 20th century have been digitised for you to search across and to view in their original format. Titles include Waikato Times, New Zealand Herald, Mataura Ensign, Thames Star, Daily Southern Cross and Evening Post.

findNZarticles
Summaries of and references to journal articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles and books about such things as family histories, homosexuality, science and Maaori. 

Index New Zealand (INNZ) 
Summaries of and references to journal articles, book reviews, poems, short stories and newspaper articles from New Zealand and South Pacific journals and newspapers. Coverage is from 1987 however older articles are being added regularly.

Publications New Zealand 
Find films, maps, sound recordings, audio books, CD-ROMs etc. relating to New Zealand that are available somewhere in New Zealand. Ask a Librarian if items you want can be interloaned.

New Zealand Libraries’ Catalogue 
Find books held by other New Zealand libraries then get them interloaned.

New Zealand Electronic Text Collection
The New Zealand Electronic Text Collection comprises significant NZ and Pacific Island texts and materials held by Victoria University of Wellington Library. This encompasses both digitised heritage material and born-digital resources.

Figure.NZ
A place for everyone to make sense of data and see New Zealand clearly, Figure.NZ is a free statistics website designed to help New Zealanders make better and more informed decisions.

 NEWSPAPER, MAGAZINE AND JOURNAL ARTICLES

PressReader
Up to date international and many New Zealand newspapers in full colour, full page format. All-you-can-read digital newsstand with thousands of the world's most popular newspapers and magazines.
cARD rEQUIRED

MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
cARD rEQUIRED

 SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS

givUS
givUS has a powerful search tool that narrows the full givUS collection down to a shortlist of possible funding opportunities for you. It contains over six hundred different funding schemes offered to voluntary organisations by government, local authorities, statutory and philanthropic trusts, gaming trusts and some service organisations. The application process for each funding scheme is outlined.
cARD rEQUIRED

givME
New Zealand's primary source of funding information for students, researchers, sports people, artists and those wanting professional development. It holds details of funding schemes for individuals and will give you the best matches of scholarships, awards and grants you are eligible for in terms of criteria, level of study and discipline along with closing dates, application requirements and contact details.
cARD rEQUIRED

 HEALTH

ProQuest Family Health 
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
cARD rEQUIRED

 ENGLISH LANGUAGE

Road to IELTS
Road to IELTS helps you prepare for the International English Language Testing System exam, or can also be used by people who just want practice.
cARD rEQUIRED


 


Hamilton Libraries