Series or Standalone?

Series or Standalone

Do you prefer to read series or standalones, or do you not mind either way? The excitement for the next book in a series is something we always look forward to but on the other hand, with a self-contained story you know what you are getting, no cliff hangers involved!

Whatever your preference, check out Rida's favourite fantasy standalones and series below.


The Farseer Trilogy

The Farseer Trilogy

by Robin Hobb

In a faraway land where members of the royal family are named for the virtues they embody, one young boy will become a walking enigma. Born on the wrong side of the sheets, Fitz, son of Chivalry Farseer, is a royal bastard cast out into the world, friendless and lonely. Only his magical link with animals - the old art known as the Wit - gives him solace and companionship. But the Wit, if used too often, is a perilous magic, and one abhorred by the nobility. So when Fitz is finally adopted into the royal household, he must give up his old ways and embrace a new life of weaponry, scribing, courtly manners; and how to kill a man secretly, as he trains to become a royal assassin.

Books: Assassin's Apprentice, Royal Assassin, Assassin's Quest

Discworld Series

Discworld Series

by Terry Pratchett

Somewhere on the frontier between thought and reality exists the Discworld, a parallel time and place which might sound and smell like our own, but which looks completely different. Particularly as it’s carried through space on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown). If you’re new to the Discworld don’t worry, you’re not alone...

There are 41 novels in the series, which can be read in any order, as well as various series companions and guidebooks in our non-fiction collection.

Tide Child Trilogy

The Tide Child Trilogy

by R. J. Barker

An epic adventure fantasy trilogy following a crew of condemned criminals on a suicide mission to hunt the first dragon seen in centuries...

Books: The Bone Ships, Call of the Bone Ships, The Bone Ship's Wake

The God-King Chronicles

The God-King Chronicles

by Mike Brooks

A series filled with war-dragons, armoured knights, sea-faring raiders, dangerous magic, battle scenes, and a Daemonic Warlord on the rise. When the citizens of Black Keep see ships on the horizon, terror takes them because they know who is coming: for generations, the keep has been raided by the fearsome clanspeople of Tjakorsha.

Books: The Black Coast, The Splinter King, The Godbreaker (expected 2022)


The priory of the orange tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree

by Samantha Shannon

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction—but assassins are getting closer to her door. Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic. Across the dark sea, Tané has trained to be a dragonrider since she was a child, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel. Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

The ocean at the end of the lane

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

by Neil Gaiman

It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed. Dark creatures from beyond the world are on the loose, and it will take everything our narrator has just to stay alive: there is primal horror here, and menace unleashed - within his family and from the forces that have gathered to destroy it. His only defense is three women, on a farm at the end of the lane. The youngest of them claims that her duckpond is ocean. The oldest can remember the Big Bang.

Fire with fire

Fire with fire

by Destiny Soria

Raised to kill dragons along with her sister, Dani Rivera unexpectedly forges a rare and magical bond with one who makes her question everything she thought she knew about dragons, which pits her against her sister.

Race the Sands

Race the Sands

by Sarah Beth Durst

In this epic standalone fantasy, the acclaimed author of the Queens of Renthia series introduces an imaginative new world in which a pair of strong and determined women risk their lives battling injustice, corruption, and deadly enemies in their quest to become monster racing champions.